Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Shirts and probably clothes in general are the easiest things to buy, sell and ship online. All you need is a good source thrift store and you are in business. Unfortunately here in Nevada City/Grass valley I have not found a reliable constant thrift store with the items I’m looking for, which is mainly quality vintage pearl snap western shirts for a great price. I like these because they sell well. There are always customers looking for them.

Luckily, while house sitting for friends up in Paradise, California I found an amazing amount of thrift stores, second hand stores and antique malls, and many with amazing stuff at great prices. I found one thrift store in particular that had great shirts/clothes and everyday you went in there, one of the employees would shout out to you what the deal of the day was…..75% off all jackets and coats or 3 pairs of shoes for $10, and one fine day I went in the deal was 3 shirts for $5, and I found a bunch of nice shirts. I was so lucky that day…..I had on a vintage western shirt and this old timer comes up to me with a stack of vintage pearl snap western shirts and says that they don’t fit him, but maybe they would work for me!!! Any size works for me! So I scored a bunch of shirts that day, not all western shirts. I also like….Pendleton, Quiksilver, Woolrich, REI, Columbia, Patagonia, Levi, Facconable and dress shirts and work shirts that are good quality and in good condition.

I like buying shirts for under $2 and generally sell them for between $15 and $30. sometimes more when I get lucky…… I wait until I have 10 or more and then do the photo shoot, measuring and listing together. Once you get them in your pipeline, you can just put them in a box and forget about them. And when they sell, they are so easy to pack and ship. Mostly shirts will go First class coz they weigh under 13oz, anything above that I ship via priority bubble mailer….Wool Pendletons ship bubble mailer.

I like them to be received like a gift at the customers end. So I fold them like they would in a store and cover them in tissue paper and then slip them in to a poly mailer. I have never had any problems or returns with shirts.

The main things are to check over the shirt completely for wear, marks, holes, all buttons work etc and show and describe the faults, if any on the listings…..Also measurements….Here’s what one of my shirt listings looks like:

Facconable Mens Button Down Long Sleeve  Shirt

White/Blue Striped

Good Used Condition
100% Cotton
Long Sleeve
Measurements:
Shoulder to Shoulder      – 18 1/2″
Pit to Pit                          – 24″ (Chest 48″)
Mid Neck to Cuff           – 32″
Neck                               – 15″
Top Button to bottom    – 29″
My Condition Description Names:
Brand New With Tags
Excellent Used Condition
Very Good Used Condition
Good Used Condition
Acceptable Vintage
Please use the photos as your best guide for condition and description…….If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to ask.
Thanks for looking.

I usually have about 10 pictures per shirt, showing all the details, angles and labels and when I list a new shirt, I use the shirt I listed before as a template by clicking “sell a similar item” link and just change out the details.

I can list about 25 shirts in a days work (6-7 hours) …..If average price is $22.50….. 25 x $22.50 = $562.50 – $50 outlay for the shirts = $512.50 for a days work in your ebay pipeline and consistently trickling in funds.

Happy Hunting 😀

